Project-K Devlog 1

Project-K is a Party game I’m making in my free time. I use Gamemaker and wear the designer’s, coder’s and artist’s hats. I’ve challenged myself into completing and releasing it! The following post is an update on it’s development.

Hey there! I’ve decided to try and revive this blog once more for various reasons, one of them is that the blog helps pace the development and make it feel more serious. It’s good for motivation!

Project-K has been my pet project for a couple of weeks now. It’s still in no shape ready to show but I’d like to share the next couple of steps I shall be taking into shaping this into a final product.

The game is currently in a playable state, we’ve played it a couple of time (2 players) on iphones to tests it’s fun and tech. It is fun. 🙂 My next goal is to have an evening where we play several 4 players’ games.

I have identified the following as the needs for this goal to be a success:

1.The game is currently hard to understand if you are not… me. There are too many placeholders and unexplained mechanics. It is important that the new testers understand what they are doing and what is going on. For this the UX/UI must be clear and smooth. To prove this, the style is unneeded, grey wireframe are enough and thus it’s on this that I will focus.

2.You only get one real chance per player to test the First Time User Experience (FTUE). I think it is important to have the game training/tutorials ready for this milestone.

3.When we tested with 2 players, we discovered an issue with the networking where some packets lost would render the game unsynced and unplayable. This must be fixed.

4. Based on what we’ve learned from the early tests, the core mechanic which is a mix of chance and skill must be reviewed. It’s lacking one extra layer to make it extra fun, engaging and make you feel like you are somewhat in control even though it is mostly luck based.

I’m not setting any specific time frame for this, except that I want to be done asap! Hopefully I’ll be able to post images starting next week or the next!

Thank you for reading and taking interest in my project! Don’t hesitate to reach me at any of the following for a chat:

Have fun!

-Dave

Leave a comment