SOULSOUP DEVLOG 7

Soulsoup is an Adventure Puzzle game project I’m making in my free time, wearing the designer’s, coder’s and artist’s hats. I’ve challenged myself in completing it in 12 weeks (not gonna happen!) using Gamemaker. The following post is an update on it’s development.

Hey all! This week was quite slow on development, there was so many thing going on that had to take priority, like a broken car for example… but I got to start arting up the interior of the first area of the game, one that is actually playable. Slow progress is progress nonetheless! Here’s the level in question:

IMG_8754

Obviously, doing the first pass of an area is long. Doing the other 100 levels that will use the same tileset is going to be much faster. While I’m doing the tiles I find conflicts with the look and gameplay. For example with sizes of interactive components and such. It’s not a big deal, I just have to take some decision and fix them.

There are also a few moving parts in this level such as the fountain and switches. Animating it will be a lot of fun.

I’m hoping that next week is going to be less busy and that I’ll be able to complete this scene. Fingers crossed!

Thank you for reading and taking interest in my project! Don’t hesitate to reach me at any of the following for a chat:

Have fun!

-Dave

Leave a comment